Popular Pages

Thread: Canned Tomatoes

R/P/M
    R5/P3/SubQ
    Blog Entries

Canned Tomatoes

Are canned tomatoes okay to cook with and eat? I had a can of Hunt's (100% natural) fire roasted diced tomatoes in the pantry and used one-half of it last night to make a really yummy chicken stew...but now I'm worried that that was a cheat. I also have some Hunt's no salt added diced tomatoes. Can someone let me know if these are okay? I'm a newbie and still figuring things out...

R5P3
    At Goal!!
    "Nothing tastes as good as thin!"

R/P/M
    P3 as of November 2, 2010...just in time to get to P4 by Thanksgiving!
    I've been using canned tomatoes with no problem for things like chili. Main thing is to read the label and make sure it doesn't contain anything else (although I think citric acid is often used as a preservative, and it doesn't seem to cause me trouble either). YMMV.
    108 days on HCG (July 15-November 1). P3 November 2-24. P4 beginning Thanksgiving Day 2010!
    LIW: 128.0
    Height: 5'4"

R/P/M
    R2 P3 HHCG LDW 140.4
    Quote Originally Posted by corbow View Post
    I've been using canned tomatoes with no problem for things like chili. Main thing is to read the label and make sure it doesn't contain anything else (although I think citric acid is often used as a preservative, and it doesn't seem to cause me trouble either). YMMV.
    Prayin~
    I'm with Corbow!! Round 1 I did not use, Round 2 I'm using without an issues - to make Chili or Marinara for variety!! Tomorrow night making Italian Meatballs - simply salt n pepper with a great little garlic/tomato marinara!!
    (Last round did not have spice...I like spice...its nice!!)
    Round 1: June 7 - October 1, 2010
    186.0 to 150.0 -36 pounds
    (-.31# lost/day average, -4.0 off chest, -9.0 off waist and -4.5 off hips)
    Round 2 (Goal 130)
    October 2, 2010 - Load Wt 154.4
    P2 LDW 140.4
    P3 beginning Wt 138.4
    November 16, 2010

...you can do it...~from The Waterboy